Fairy Penguin

da little fairy penguin eudyptula minorPossibly my favorite of all the photos I’ve ever taken, this was taken on Kangaroo Island, in Australia, in 2005. I was walking by myself on the beach in the morning when I heard something growling at me from the rocks that separated the beach from the hillside above. When I finally pinpointed the sound, I aimed my camera and got lucky with this shot of a Little Penguin (Eudyptula minor) – probably a female protecting her burrow and not at all happy about me wandering by so close. Also known as the fairy penguin, this is the smallest penguin species, and they are incredibly cute. This is one of my all-time favorite bird sightings, one I would never forget with or without the photograph. (Cross-posted from Teacup Rex)

Leave a Reply

